APPG Equalities meeting on the continuing impact of the recession

On 15 July 2009, the All Party Parliamentary Group on Equalities held a meeting to discuss the continuing impact of the recession.

Participants heard presentations from Andrea Murray (Acting Group Director of Strategy at the Equality and Human Rights Commission), Kayte Lawton (Research Fellow at the Institute for Public Policy Research) and Patrick Grattan (Secretary of the Equality and Diversity Forum).

Click here for notes of meeting

Joint parliamentary event on equality for children and young people

On 10 June 2009, the All Party Parliamentary Groups on Equalities, Children and Children in Wales held a joint meeting to discuss ‘Children and young people and the age equality provisions in the Equality Bill’.

Click here for note of meeting

Click here for presentation by Mike Lindsay, Children’s Rights Alliance for England

Click here for presentation by Jenny Thomas, Children’s Rights Information Network

Click here for presentation by Claire Hubberstey, The Children’s Society

Click here for presentation by Sheila Wild, Equality and Human Rights Commission

Click here for presentation on Young Equals campaign

Click here for presentation by Jessica

APPG procurement event

On 21 January 2009, the All Party Parliamentary Group on Equalities held an event to ask ‘Should procurement be included in the Equality Bill?’

Speakers included Lee Tribe (Department for Work and Pensions), Loraine Martins (Olympic Delivery Authority), Kirsten Proctor (Balfour Beatty/Carillion Joint Venture) and Mandy Wright (Improvement and Development Agency).

Click here for note of event

Click here for presentation by Kirsten Proctor

APPG Equalities Equality Duty event

On 21 October 2008 the All Party Parliamentary Group on Equalities held a meeting on ‘A New Equality Duty for All’.

Speakers included: Janice Shersby, Director of the Government Equalities Office; Séamus Taylor, Director of Equality at the Crown Prosecution Service; and Teresa Clark, Head of Mainstreaming in the Equality and Diversity Unit. Department for Children. Schools and Families.

Click here for note of meeting

APPG Equalities AGM and Seminar with Jonathan Rees, Government Equalities Office

On 9 July 2008, the All Party Parliamentary Group on Equalities held a seminar with Jonathan Rees, Director General of the Government Equalities Office.

The event was also the APPG’s Annual General Meeting and the following officers were elected:

Chair: Anne Begg MP
Vice-chairs: Nia Griffith MP, Eleanor Laing MP, Lord Lester of Herne Hill, Baroness Young of Hornsey
Secretary: Evan Harris MP
Treasurer: Baroness Greengross

Click here for minutes of meeting

APPG Equalities seminar: The future of equality

On 20 March 2007, The All Party Parliamentary Group on Equalities held a seminar to discuss the Future of Equality with the Rt Hon Ruth Kelly, Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government and Trevor Phillips, Chair of the Commission for Equality and Human Rights.

Click here for link to abbreviated transcript of meeting

Reception with Jacqui Smith, Deputy Minister for Women and Equality

On Wednesday 7 July 2004, the Equality and Diversity Forum and the new all-party Associate Parliamentary Group (APG) on Equalities jointly hosted a reception in the Attlee Suite of the Houses of Parliament.  The event was very well attended by members of parliament, peers, Forum members, observers and correspondents, and by representatives of many organisations concerned with equality issues.

Vera Baird QC MP and Chair of the APG welcomed guests to the first major public event of the Group. The APG will play a similar role within Parliament to the Equality and Diversity Forum, in highlighting concerns about equality across the different strands, without duplicating the valuable work of existing parliamentary groups in individual areas of discrimination.

The Forum and the APG were delighted to welcome Jacqui Smith, Deputy Minister for Women and Equality. The Government had just published a White Paper on the proposed Commission for Equality and Human Rights. Jacqui gave a short address in which she welcomed the creation of the new Parliamentary Group and thanked Equality and Diversity Forum members for their involvement in the CEHR Task Force and their contribution to progress on the new Commission.