Our team

Here’s where you can find our staff and trustees.


Ali Harris

Ali joins us from Citizens Advice as our Chief Executive.  She brings twenty years of leadership experience from organisations like Oxfam and Stonewall. She’s fought homophobia, pioneered new ways to support domestic violence survivors, and championed disability rights in war-torn Bosnia.

Ali is just starting to figure out twitter. You can follow her at @alifharris.

Gay Moon

Gay Moon is our Legal Advisor. She’s a solicitor, independent advisor on equality law policy, Chair of UKREN and Director of the Discrimination Law Association.

Gay is also a rather good wildlife photographer.

Tamsyn Hyatt

Tamsyn leads our digital work; alongside work on the Equally Ours strategic communications programme.  She works with a range of organisations to change hearts and minds on issues like inequality, human rights and social justice.

When she’s not wearing her #teamWordPress t-shirt, Tamsyn can be found hiking and badly playing the violin.

Liz Shannon

A London native, Liz leads on all things policy and parliamentary. She has a strong campaigning background: from widening access to education at UCU, to getting Fair Trade off the ground at Oxfam.

Liz aims to make a difference in the world:  through policy, song and/or culinary exploration.

Tracey Agyeman

Tracey joins us from the European Womens’ Lobby. She studied European Studies at Leicester University, before moving to Global Dialogue and UNESCO. Her work involves leading the network – events, communications and membership.

Her (current) favourite book is Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi.


Asif Afridi

Asif is our Chair, joining us from the Birmingham think tank brap. His areas of expertise include deprivation; social networks and cohesion; inequalities in political representation, and human rights protection in the UK.

Sarah Veale, CBE

Sarah is our Vice-Chair. She was Head of the Equality and Employment Rights Department at the TUC, where she helped negotiate the basis of the Temporary Agency Work Directive with CBI and the Government.

Jean Scott

Jean is our Treasurer, and another TUC alumni as their Head of Finance. She’s worked with TUC Education Trust, Tolpuddle Memorial Trust and TUC Aid.

Julie Bishop

Julie is also our vice-chair. She’s the Director of the Law Centres Network, working to defend the legal rights of people who can’t afford a lawyer. She’s also worked in IT, and taught philosophy at the University of Sydney, Australia.

David Cutler

David is Director of the Baring Foundation. He’s previously worked at the Carnegie UK Trust and the DIVERT Trust, and held trustee roles at Amnesty International and BIHR.

Dr Mike Nussbaum

Mike has over 40 years of community development experience. He’s Chair of the Expert Volunteers Initiative, and received the national ‘Year of the Volunteer’ Award for services to volunteering in 2005.

Janet Veitch, OBE

Janet is also our Vice-Chair. She specialises in  public policy on women’s rights. She’s a non-executive director of the End Violence against Women Coalition and was awarded an OBE for services to women’s rights in 2011.

Dr Debbie Weekes-Bernard

Debbie is Policy and Research Manager at the Joseph Rowntree Foundation. Her areas of expertise include labour markets, poverty, ethnicity, education, lone parents, young people, and society.

Chris Whitwell

Chris is the former Director of Friends, Families and Travellers. He’s dedicated to addressing the needs of those groups who are  ‘chronically excluded’ and who often remain untouched by mainstream initiatives.

Sam Smethers

Sam is Chief Executive of the Fawcett Society. She’s previously worked at Grandparents Plus, the Equal Opportunities Commission, and in Parliament.

Dr Wanda Wyporska, FRSA

Wanda is Executive Director of the Equality Trust and a Visiting Fellow at the University of York. She’s also a trustee of LGBT History Month.